Dorothy Thompson


Non-executive Director

In April 2018, Tullow announced the appointment of Dorothy Thompson (57) as independent non-executive Director and Chair-designate of Tullow with effect from the conclusion of the Group’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 25 April 2018. Dorothy took over as Chair on 20 July 2018, following the retirement of Tullow's Chairman and Founder, Aidan Heavey.  

Dorothy brings extensive experience to Tullow having served for 12 years as Chief Executive Officer of Drax Group plc, the international power and energy trading company, until the end of 2017. Before joining Drax, Dorothy managed InterGen’s European power business, was head of project finance at PowerGen and worked at CDC Capital Partners, the private sector arm of the British Government’s aid programme. Dorothy has extensive emerging markets experience including a period working in the Commercial and Industrial division of the Bank of Botswana. Dorothy holds a BSc and an MSc in Economics from the London School of Economics and Political Science.

Committee membership

Nominations (Chair) and EHS Committees.

Other directorships and offices

Dorothy is currently a non-executive Director of the Court of the Bank of England and the NYSE-listed Eaton Corporation plc.