Corporate Governance

The Board remains focused on strong corporate governance and effective risk management. The Board is accountable to shareholders for sustainable financial performance and long-term shareholder value. It meets these aims by approving the Group’s strategy and ensuring that the necessary resources are in place to achieve the agreed strategic aims and objectives. It determines the Company’s key policies and reviews management and financial performance.

The Board operates within a framework of controls and these clear procedures, lines of responsibility and delegated authorities allow risk to be assessed and managed effectively. These are underpinned by the Board’s work to set the Group’s core values and standards of business conduct and ensure that these, together with the Group’s obligations to its stakeholders, are widely understood across all its activities.   

Board composition

The Board currently comprises a Chair, Chief Executive Officer, two other Executive Directors and four independent non-executive Directors. Together, they bring a broad range of business, commercial and other relevant experience. The Board are of the view that there is an appropriate balance of skills, experience, independence and diversity of background amongst the members to carry out duties and responsibilities effectively.

Board Member Year appointed 
Dorothy Thompson 2018
Executive Directors
Paul McDade
Angus McCoss 2006 
Les Wood 2017
Non-executive Directors
Steve Lucas 2012 
Jeremy Wilson 2013
Mike Daly 2014 
Sheila Khama 2019
Genevieve Sangudi 2019

Board committees

The Board has established the following principal Committees, each of which has written terms of reference (approved by the Board) setting out its authority and duties:

  • Audit Committee
  • Nominations Committee
  • Remuneration Committee
  • EHS Committee  

Visit Board Committees page

Tullow Incentive Plan Rules

This document sets out detailed rules of the Tullow Incentive Plan which is a discretionary benefit offered by Tullow Oil plc for its employees.

Download document / PDF 291KB

Schedule of matters reserved for the Board

Download document / PDF 620KB

Section 430 (2B) Statement

Retirement of Anne Drinkwater

The document below is provided in accordance with Section 430 (2B) of the Companies Act 2006

Download document / PDF 337KB

Section 430 (2B) Statement

Retirement of Aidan Heavey

The document below is provided in accordance with Section 430 (2B) of the Companies Act 2006

Download document / PDF 359KB

Our Policies